Dakota Territory

During the Civil War, the Dakota Territory contributed one battalion with two companies.  The companies helped defend against Indian raids. The Dakota Territory became an organized territory on March 2, 1861. It included much of present-day Montana and Wyoming. The Dakota Territory was divided into the states of North Dakota and South Dakota on November 2, 1889. The United States War Department credited the Dakota Territory with supplying 206 white men to the Union Army.

1st Battalion Cavalry